Home » Thanksgiving » Thanksgiving in Maine

Thanksgiving in Maine

Whew! It’s been almost two months since my last post. I finally sat down today and figured out why my iCloud wouldn’t sync my photos to my pc from my iPhone. I’m just too lazy to plug in the phone and move them myself! 😉

We have been pretty busy lately with life, in general. For the week of Thanksgiving, we flew up to Maine and visited Bart’s family. We had a wonderful time, as we did last year. Bart’s grandfather celebrated his 90th birthday while we were there. We saw lots of family and friends.  One of the days Bart, Blake and I drove out to the lake that Bart grew up swimming in during summertime. On the way we stopped at Raymonds, the town store, and bought Moxie (Yuck!), red snapper hot dogs and oatmeal pies for the drive there (which was not long at all). Blake tried his first sip of Moxie (and his first taste of soda) and didn’t like it. I think this should be all kids first taste of soda so that they will never want soda again! We also tried Red Snappers. They are hot dogs with a red casing and they “snap” when you bite into them. I wasn’t interested, so I got chicken fingers, but Blake and Bart had the hot dog. Blake ate the bun and I think Bart was a little disappointed that Blake didn’t like the red snapper or the Moxie. Hey, he is still from the South! 🙂 The guys had fun throwing rocks into the partially frozen shoreline. I watched and then they went to walk around where there was still snow on the ground nearby.IMG_1927 IMG_1928 IMG_1941 IMG_1937IMG_1947

Thanksgiving day we had a lot of family over and had a wonderful time eating, watching the Macy’s Thanksgiving Parade, and playing games. Blake also got a new desk that we shipped home. This desk first belonged to Bart’s grandfather when he was 3. That makes the desk 87 years old. It has been used by all of the kids, grandchildren and now the great grandchildren! We were so excited to have it come live with us until it’s time to pass it along.IMG_1952 IMG_1974 IMG_1979 IMG_1965

Leave a comment